“Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever.”

Hey guys! So my last post looked into some of the reasons we all still love Disney, in this post I am going to continue with this and look into the soundtracks and the romance in the stories.

The Soundtracks

Many of the Disney soundtracks are the first glimpse we have of a movie, the first connection we get and also one that sticks with us. Music is a great way of preserving memories, when I hear specific songs they transport me back to a time in my life, whether from my childhood or more recently. Disney music certainly does that for me, when I hear some of the music such as A Whole New World from Aladdin (1992) or Part of your World from The Little Mermaid (1989) I am immediately taken back to my childhood, singing along to the songs with my sister while watching the movies. Not only do they remind of my childhood they remind me of the happy memories I have with my sister growing up and of every time we’ve watched the movies together since. We all have our own memories that are brought on by simply hearing these songs and that’s exactly why they continue to be so successful. This is why we have such a strong connection with them, this is why 20 years later we can hear them and still know every word.

Romance

The use of romance in the movies set our expectations for love, some may think it set them too high, but what’s wrong with wanting someone to treat you like a princess. Not only did they set our expectations for love but they showed us love between two characters, whether that’s in a romantic way or love within families. Disney movies taught us about love and sharing it with other people. Frozen (2013) showed us that true love doesn’t have to be between a man and a woman, we seen the act of true love coming from sisters, it showed us, and the next generation of Disney fans, the strength of family. Some of the princesses are saved physically in the movies where as others are saved mentally. Pocahontas (1995) didn’t need John Smith to save her from anyone, she needed him to find herself and to find her place in her world. Not all romance in the movies is about meeting your one true love and living happily, ever after, it can also be about finding your place in the world and a sense of belonging, which we all want in life. Disney movies help us to feel this in our own lives, our connections with the romance in the stories can help us when we grow up or as grown-ups watching it.

These are some the reasons I feel we all share such a strong connection with Disney, as kids it taught us about life and as adults it reminds us of our childhoods and the feelings we had as children watching these movies. I believe the strongest reason for Disney still being so popular with adults is because of the memories we get from watching the movies, because of the feelings we get and because we can feel like children again and forget all our worries.

When I watch Disney movies, The Lion King in particular, I feel like I’m a child again, like I’m seeing it for the first time, and for 90 minutes I have nothing to worry about, except whether Simba will ever return home to Pride Rock, to his rightful place as King!

What are your thoughts? Do you think the greatest connection we have with Disney is nostalgia? Feel free to share your thoughts or questions in the comments section.

Claire 🙂

2 thoughts on ““Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever.”

    1. It’s funny you mention that now, as there are actually some references in the new Beauty and the Beast. I don’t want to spoil it for you so I wont say anymore.

      I think Disney have chosen to do address this now, to show there is no shame in being who you are, for a long time same sex relationships were seen as wrong and many people were afraid to be themselves. The whole point of Disney is to show you its ok to be who you are, whoever that may be. The more you see same sex couples on TV, the more people accept them and Disney is the perfect place to start.

      Like

Leave a Reply

