“If it’s not Baroque, don’t fix it.”

Sorry about the disappearance and the delay in a new post but, it’s here, it’s finally here, Beauty and the Beast has finally been released!

I thought it would be a great idea to show why Disney is so popular with adults by writing a little review on Disney’s newest release. Besides, how could I not want to write all about it considering how excited I’ve been for the release and how highly anticipated it was around the world, with children and adults. So, here it goes…

Overall, of course I loved the film, it’s Disney but there were some things I just couldn’t get my head around, and the main issue I had with the film was Chip and Mrs Potts. I just couldn’t connect with these characters like I did with the animation. I think I feel so strongly about this as I had such high expectations of the characters as they were my favourite from the film and I just didn’t feel like the actors did them any justice. Ewan McGregor and Sir Ian McKellen as Lumiere and Cogsworth on the other hand were amazing!

I feel all the other actors were cast really well in their roles and did the character’s justice. Luke Evans as Gaston and Josh Gad as LeFou were great, you could see the characters bounced off one another making it easy to love the people you’re supposed to hate. These two definitely stood out for me and by far stole the show. As much as there were many issues over including a gay LeFou, I thought it was great, Josh Gad played the part perfectly, lusting over Gaston and eventually getting a dance with his “Prince Charming” in the end. LeFou’s lust for Gaston is definitely something us adults can relate to, especially as teens lusting over our school crush, that’s exactly what this reminded me of making it so relatable and making it so much easier to connect with the characters, especially LeFou.

My nostalgia with Disney certainly affected how I viewed the film as I wasn’t sure how to feel about the new additional scenes, I wasn’t so welcoming for this change as it changed the way you viewed the characters, which wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, I just didn’t like that they changed the story. Overall the movie was great and this was certainly a small issue I had and will probably in time love and appreciate, the child in me just didn’t know how to take the changes. Bring on the next one million times see it! 😊

As always, feel free to ask any questions and share your views on the movie.

Claire 😊

2 thoughts on ““If it’s not Baroque, don’t fix it.”

  1. Lisa

    I went to see this in the holidays and felt much the same – although I am not a die-hard fan like you. I thought bits of it were quite brutal, which I was surprised at, did I just forget that from the animated version, or was that new? Which Disney film will get the live action treatment next?

    Like

    1. No you didn’t forget, there was a lot more in this film than the animation. I did actually read that some parents were unhappy about this and were worried it was too much for their young children to see. I think I seen that there are 19 films planned for live action, I think and hope The Lion King is the next one as casting has been done for that. James Earl Jones will be returning as the voice of Mufasa which certainly pleases me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

